Fall 2016 Seminars


DRAFT

August

Week 1

Thursday, Aug 25 ENGR PhD Program
Pruthvik Raghupathi, ENGR PhD Candidate
Comprehensive Exam Presentation
HLC-2575, 12:30 - 1:45 pm
Friday, Aug 26 Computer Engineering
Dr. S. Jay Yang, Department Head of Computer Engineering
Overview of CMPE-MS research areas and requirements
GLE-2159, 12:00 - 12:50 pm

September

Week 2

Thursday, Sep 1 ENGR PhD Program
Shitij Kumar, ENGR PhD Student
Comprehensive Exam Rehearsal
HLC-2575, 12:30 - 1:45 pm
Friday, Sep 2 Computer Engineering
Students, Computer Engineering
Student Panel
: GLE-2159, 12:00 - 12:50 pm

Week 3

Thursday, Sep 8 ENGR PhD Program
Chaitanya Mahajan, ENGR PhD Student
Comprehensive Exam Practice
HLC-2575, 12:30 - 1:45 pm
Friday, Sep 9 Computer Engineering
Dr. Edward Hensel, Associate Dean
Ethics in Graduate Studies
: GLE-2159, 12:00 - 12:50 pm

Week 4

Thursday, Sep 15 ENGR PhD Program
Breton Minnehan, ENGR PhD Student
Comprehensive Exam Practice
HLC-2575, 12:30 - 1:45 pm
Friday, Sep 16 Computer Engineering
Dr. Muhammad Shaaban, Computer Engineering
Research Presentation
GLE-2159, 12:00 - 12:50 pm

Week 5

Thursday, Sep 22 ENGR PhD Program
Fatemeh Shah Mohammadi, ENGR PhD Student
Comprehensive Exam Practice
HLC-2575, 12:30 - 1:45 pm
Friday, Sep 23 Computer Engineering
Dr. Juan Cockburn, Computer Engineering
Research Presentation
GLE-2159, 12:00 - 12:50 pm

Week 6

Thursday, Sep 29 ENGR PhD Program
Trevor Smith, ENGR PhD Student
Research Presentation
HLC-2575, 12:30 - 1:45 pm
Friday, Sep 30 Computer Engineering
Dr. Ray Ptucha, Computer Engineering
Research Presentation
GLE-2159, 12:00 - 12:50 pm

October

Week 7

Thursday, Oct 6 ENGR PhD Program
Risa Robinson, RIT Mechanical Engineering department head
"What's Inhaled by Vaping? Topography, Behavior, Emissions, Exposure and Dose," American Thoracic Society 2016 Conference, San Francisco CA, 2016-05-13''
Friday, Oct 7 Computer Engineering
Dr. Sonia Lopez Alarcon, Computer Engineering
Research Presentation
GLE-2159, 12:00 - 12:50 pm

Week 8

Thursday, Oct 13 ENGR PhD Program
Amlan, Ganguly, Computer Engineering
''"Energy-Efficient Datacenters with Wireless Interconnection Networks," NSF Career research project"
70-3560, 12:30 - 1:45 pm
Friday, Oct 14 Computer Engineering
To Be Announced
Brick City Weekend
GLE-2159, 12:00 - 12:50 pm
Friday, Oct 14 KGCOE Electrical and Microelectronic Engineering
Inductees to be Announced
Location and Time - To Be Determined
Friday, Oct 14 KGCOE Mechanical Engineering
Inductees to be Announced
Location and Time - To Be Determined
Saturday, Oct 15 Brick City Homecoming
Speaker to be Announced
Title to be Announced
Location and Time - To Be Determined

Week 9

Thursday, Oct 20 ENGR PhD Program
Ruben Proano, Industrial and Systems Engineering
Seminar on research project regarding immunization, supported by the Gates Foundation
HLC-2575, 12:30 - 1:45 pm
Friday, Oct 7 Computer Engineering
Graduate Students, Computer Engineering
Review of Students’ Progress on Faculty Advisor Declaration
GLE-2159, 12:00 - 12:50 pm

Week 10

Thursday, Oct 27 ENGR PhD Program
Denis Cormier, Industrial and Systems Engineering
Seminar on the AMPRINT, its relationship to the USA NNMI's, NYS level investments, and the various players in the effort.
HLC-2575, 12:30 - 1:45 pm
Friday, Oct 28 Computer Engineering
To Be Announced
To Be Announced
GLE-2159, 12:00 - 12:50 pm
Friday, Oct 30 Computer, Electrical and Microelectronic Engineering, ENGR-C
NVIDIA Corporation Visit
Tech Talk on Deep Learning
Carlson Auditorium, CAR-1125, 12:00 - 12:50 pm

November

Week 11

Thursday, Nov 3 ENGR PhD Program
Speaker To Be Announced
Healthcare Research
HLC-2575, 12:30 - 1:45 pm
Friday, Nov 4 Computer Engineering
To Be Announced
To Be Announced
GLE-2159, 12:00 - 12:50 pm
Friday, Nov 4 Microelectronic Engineering
To Be Announced
To Be Announced
CIMS-2240, 11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday, Nov 4 Electrical Engineering
To Be Announced
To Be Announced
Xerox Auditorium, GLE-2580, 12:00 - 12:50 pm

Week 12

Thursday, Nov 10 ENGR PhD Program
Martin Gordon, Engineering PhD Student
US Department of Transportation Funded Research Proposal
HLC-2575, 12:30 - 1:45 pm
Friday, Nov 11 Computer Engineering
To Be Announced
To Be Announced
GLE-2159, 12:00 - 12:50 pm

Week 13

Thursday, Nov 17 ENGR PhD Program
First Year Student, Mock Qualifying Exam
First Year Student, Mock Qualifying Exam
First Year Student, Mock Qualifying Exam
HLC-2575, 12:30 - 1:45 pm
Friday, Nov 18 Computer Engineering
Western NY Image and Signal Processing Workshop
Free Keynotes
Location TBD

Week 14

December

Thursday, Dec 1 ENGR PhD Program
First Year Student, Mock Qualifying Exam
First Year Student, Mock Qualifying Exam
First Year Student, Mock Qualifying Exam
HLC-2575, 12:30 - 1:45 pm
Friday, Dec 2 Computer Engineering
Dr. S. Jay Yang
Review of student research advisor declaration
GLE-2159, 12:00 - 12:50 pm

Week 15

Thursday, Dec 8 ENGR PhD Program
First Year Student, Mock Qualifying Exam
First Year Student, Mock Qualifying Exam
First Year Student, Mock Qualifying Exam
HLC-2575, 12:30 - 1:45 pm
Friday, Dec 9 Computer Engineering
No Seminar Today
Last week of classes
GLE-2159, 12:00 - 12:50 pm

Final Exam Week


KGCOE-Research | Fall 2016 Seminars | Spring 2017 Seminars || Fall 2015 Seminars | Spring 2016 Seminars